Looking good while fighting evil.

Red Forochel

I need a warm, cozy, yet tough and heavy questing outfit for Forochel. I’ve been looking forward to this stunning, exotic zone forever it seems.

My original goal was to make a heavy armour outfit that looked warm and I had to do it without using any of the Mammutti armour, because no one I knew seemed able to make it*. After struggling with a color scheme, the Starry Mantle had a timely, inspirational and all around pretty awesome post regarding Forochel and the culture the Lossoth are based on. After reading it and researching the Sámi for myself, this was what my first attempt looked like:

I didn’t want her to look like a complete native, both she and I are brand new to the zone! Instead I wanted her to look like what she is: a visitor slowly making friends with the locals. I still like the idea behind the outfit, but it is very rough around the edges and I wasn’t happy enough with it to spend an entire zone questing in it. So, I had yet to come up with something for questing in Forochel, and at this point I had spent enough time on it that it was starting to retard my already snails-paced leveling. Luckily I equipped the Short Fancy Robe on a whim after I got it at the very end of the Yule festival. What a revelation! It was perfect:

Even though it isn’t heavy armour at all, the knee-length robe looks bulky enough that it is easy to imagine her chain mail suit on underneath it, and the heavy, water-resistant and highly insulating wool of the robe would be the perfect thing for the harsh Forochel weather.

She would have gotten this robe from one of the traders bringing goods to the Lossoth from the south, the geometric patterns, primary colors and mountainous scene would delight the snow-dwelling people. The fine quality oiled-leather boots are also water resistant, and they would be thickly lined with wool, so that even when the persistent snow worked its way past the leather her feet would remain warm. When the temperature starts to plummet and icy fog rolls in from the bay, she wraps the Cloak of Winter Nights and its fox-fur warmth around her, its starry sky dyed the bright sea blue the Lossoth love so much.

Back: Cloak of Winter Nights- sea blue (store) (not shown)
Head: Traveller’s Hood- red (store)
Shoulders: Tactical Shoulder Guards- crimson, (lvl 20 world drop, pretty sure this skin’s all over the place though)
Gloves: Ajokoira Gloves- evendim blue (tailor, t5 light)
Chest: Short Fancy Robe- red (Yule festival gift box)
Legs: N/A
Boots: Munce’s Shoes- gold (lvl 23 quest reward)

*Apparently only Tailors come to Forochel. Well no more! I shall make mine own pretty armour, dammit! Also, crazy that none of the other metalsmiths I know came here. There is ancient ore absolutely everywhere.
I hit 46 and Friend to the Lossoth! Now I can make the Mammutti shoulders and gloves, wheee!
Tried them out on my cold weather outfits and OF COURSE liked what I already have better. *shakes head in resignation*.
48 and Ally, now I have the chest and boots. On to Kindred and the last two pieces…
Woot! 50 and Kindred. Good thing too, Moria looks cold.

Leave a Reply

